User muting allows you to mute certain users and hide those users' comments from your view. Muting does not have any effect on the visibility of that user's comments for the rest of the CBC community. Users are not notified when you mute them.
From your profile, there is a "Mute" tab so you can review your muted users and unmute them if you choose to do so.
To mute a user, click on their name. The Mute button will be visible in their profile.