Our system was created in accordance with Canada's privacy laws which do not include a right for erasure, and requests for permanent account deletion are uncommon.
We would like to remind you that your account allows you to access multiple services, including commenting, newsletters and contests on cbc.ca, as well as features and content on CBC Gem, which you will no longer be able to make use of once your account is deleted.
If you would like to go ahead with an account deletion please send a message to firstname.lastname@example.org and we will proceed with your request. Your account will first be deactivated, it will then be permanently deleted from our systems within 90 days of deactivation. This deactivation period is to prevent fraud and recover your account if you change your mind.
Once your account is permanently deleted, other users will be prevented from seeing any posts or comments you may have made on cbc.ca, though it may be possible that some of your posts and related information will remain available through online searches for a certain period of time through cache function, internet archives, etc. We unfortunately have no control over this. Also, once your account is permanently deleted there will be no way to recover it, and so you will be required to create a new one if you change your mind.
We thank you for being a CBC member and we hope you will continue to enjoy the wide variety of content still available without a CBC user account.